American Budgerigar Society District 6 & 8 Regional Minutes July 9, 2005

District 6 & 8 Regional Meeting was called to order at 1:15 PM, By District Director Gene Johnson.

He announced there were 17 ABS Members Present (Gene Johnson. Bev Johnson, Bob Jensen, Brent Argrave, Mark Gray, Larry Allen, David Hyatt, Vic Lassalle, Paulette Lassalle, James Stewart, Tony Gioia, Rita Gioia, Len Bourgeois, Ken Saxion, Walter Loepke, Louise Loepke, Dewayne Weldon) and 8 proxies. The names from the proxy ballots and the names of the designated votors, were read:

Sandy Oelschlegel- voter Gene or Bev Johnson Sandra Huisinga - voter Bev Johnson Jeane Robinson - voter Bev Johnson Ed Dittmar - voter Bev Johnson John Morris - voter Maureen Broderick or Bev Johnson Robert Travnieck - voter Vic Lassalle Deborah Lownsdale - voter Ken Saxion Rhonda Saxion - votor Ken Saxion

A Point Of Order was called by Louise Loepke. Louise stated that under Roberts Rules of Order, Maureen Broderick could not vote a proxy for a District 6 Member, because Maureen did not live in District 6.

Maureen's Reply: the proxy for John was made out to her or Bev Johnson.

Louise's Reply: Bev could vote the proxy, but Maureen could not.

The proxy for John Morris was accepted by Bev Johnson.

The floor was opened for any old business:

Motion by Walter Lopeke, Second By Vic Lassalle
"To dispence with the reading of the minutes of the last meeting."

All In Favor, None Opposed Motion Passed

There was a call to the floor for any other old business, with no response from the floor.

The floor was opened for any new business:

Motion by Ken Saxion, Second by Bev Johnson
"All ABS awards be given to any ABS Member, regardless of the organization that issued his or her bands, the bird must be bred and banded by the exibitor, and their bands must be issued by an organization that keeps records of all bands issued."

13 In Favor, 2 Opposed, 10 Abstention Motion Passed

Motion by Ken Saxion, Second by Bev Johnson
"ABS and BAA Judges be allowed to judge the shows of both
Societies."

8 In Favor, 3 Opposed, 14 Abstention Motion Passed

Motion by Ken Saxion, Second by Bev Johnson
"Junior exibitors may show as Junior exibitors, untill age 16, regardless of show wins."

5 In Favor, 9 Opposed, 11 Abstention Motion Failed

A call was made for any other motions. With no response from the floor.

The floor was opened for ABS Officer Nominations:

Motion by Bob Jensen, Second by Tony Gioia "To nominate Louise Loepke for ABS President."

Motion by Bev Johnson, Second by Ken Saxion 'To nominate Tom Traxler For ABS President."

With no other nominations, District Director Gene Johnson stated with one of the nominees present, the vote would be by closed ballot.

The Ballots were counted three times by Gene Johnson and Walter Loepke.

In Favor of Louise Loepke - 11, In Favor of Tom Traxler - 13, 1 abstention.

Tom Traxler chosen as the district nominee, for ABS President.

The floor was opened for nominations of ABS First Vice President:

Motion by Walter Loepke, Second By Bev Johnson "To nominate John Miles for ABS First Vice President."

With no other nominations, John Miles chosen a the district nominee, for ABS First Vice President.

The Floor was opened for nominations of ABS Second Vice President:

Motion by Walter Loepke, Second by David Hyatt "To nominate Harlan Flora for ABS Second Vice President."

Motion by Bev Johnson, Second by Ken Saxion
"To nominate Dan Scholtes for ABS Second Vice President."

With no other nominations, from the floor. The call for a vote was made.

In Favor of Harlan Flora - 7 votes, In Favor of Dan Scholtes - 8 votes, 10 abstention.

Dan Scholtes chosen as the district nominee for ABS Second Vice President.

The Floor was opened for nomination of ABS Secretary:

Motion By Walter Loepke, Second by Ken Saxion "To nominate Dinah Moore for ABS Secretary."

With no other nominations, Dinah Moore chosen as the district nominee for ABS Secretary.

The floor was opened for nomination for ABS Treasurer:

Motion by David Hyatt, Second by Bev Johnson "To nominate Russ Roberts for ABS Treasurer."

With no other nominations, Russ Roberts chosen as the district Nominee for Abs Treasurer.

District Director Gene Johnson called for any other business?

Motion By Bev Johnson, Second by Vic Lassalle "To close the Meeting."

None Opposed.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:55 PM.

As Recorded by Velma Saxion

Respectfully Submitted Gene Johnson ABS District 6/8 Director